# Living Proud Annual General Meeting

5:30pm, Wednesday 14 December 2022 Conference Room, City West Lotteries House, 2 Delhi Street, West Perth 6005 with additional remote access via Teams

# Minutes

**Attendees:** Barry Cosker (Chair), Sarah Jane Hithersay (Vice Chair), Lena Van Hale (Acting Secretary) Sam Gibbings (Treasurer), Erin Leahy, Jane Pritchard, Meaghan Holden, Sheldon Smith, Jaini Shah, Michael Atkinson, Jaye Edwards, Sage Harlow.

# 1. Welcome

The Secretary opened the meeting, Acknowledged Country, and welcomed everyone present to the Living Proud 2022 AGM. General housekeeping items were covered, and the agenda summarised.

# 2. Apologies

All current Board members were present, no Member apologies received.

## 3. Proxies

No proxy nominations were received.

## 4. Review of actions from previous AGM

The Secretary advised that due to an administrative error with the Department of Mines, Industry, Regulations and Safety (DMIRS), the actions to amend the Constitution as agreed under Section 9 of the 2021 AGM Minutes ('Proposed Constitution Resolutions') were void.

Rather than move to resurrect these void changes, the Chair proposed that given it's been almost 5 years since the Constitution was comprehensively reviewed, the previously agreed amendments should be postponed pending a more thorough end-to-end Constitutional review. This would also allow for community consultation and help ensure the Constitution continues to accurately reflect the Organisation's purpose, values and operating model. **Moved:** Barry Cosker

Seconded: Lena Van Hale

All other actions were noted as complete.

# 5. Acceptance of Minutes of previous AGM

Notwithstanding the agreed postponement of the actions noted in Section 9 of the 2021 Minutes, the Secretary moved that the minutes of the AGM held on Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> October 2021 be accepted as a true record of the meeting.

Moved: Lena Van Hale Seconded: Sarah Jane Hithersay

## 6. Chairperson's report

The Chair introduced and presented the 2021-2022 Annual Report. This presentation included the Chair's Report and Operational Report.

The Chair thanked staff, volunteers and the Board for their ongoing support, contribution, effort, and passion in helping achieve a very successful year for the organisation. There was particular emphasis on the importance of maintaining strategic focus, most notably around growth aspirations (income, capacity, capabilities and services offered), as well as the need to increase promotion, awareness and collaboration to and with the community.

The Chair also thanked departing Board members Sarah Jane Hithersay and Sheldon Smith for their contribution and commitment to Living Proud throughout their terms of office.

# 7. Operational report

This update was covered in the Chair's presentation.

## 8. Treasurer's report

The Treasurer introduced and presented the 2021-2022 Treasurer's Report and associated Financial Statements.

The Treasurer thanked staff, volunteers and the Board for their continued contribution and support in ensuring that the accounting functions are performed to a high standard. Particular acknowledgment was made to Terry Andrews and Cat Pazvakavamba for the key role they play. It was noted that the organisation remains in a strong financial position ending the financial year with increased cash reserves and a healthy surplus.

## 9. Questions to Board Members

No questions were raised.

# **10.** Acceptance of Annual Report

Moved: Sheldon Smith Seconded: Jaye Edwards

## **11. Acceptance of Financial Statements**

Moved: Barry Cosker Seconded: Lena Van Hale

# 12. Appointment of and questions to the Auditor

No questions were raised.

The Treasurer moved that Alan King FCA be reappointed as Auditor for Living Proud. **Moved:** Sam Gibbings **Seconded:** Barry Cosker

# **13. Election of Board Members**

The Secretary presented the results of the elections for Office Holders and Ordinary Board Member positions:

The following individuals were declared elected:

Chair (2 year term): Barry Cosker Vice Chair (2 year term): Erin Leahy Secretary (2 year term): Lena Van Hale Ordinary Member (2 year term): Meaghan Holden

Congratulations were noted for all appointees.

## 14. General Business

No general business was raised.

## 15. Close

The Chair had pleasure in playing the recent promotional video showcasing the amazing efforts of the Queer & Accessible project and the incredible contribution the team made to help achieve successful community outcomes at the PrideFEST Fairday and Parade events.

The meeting was declared closed at 6:30pm.